Pre Loader

BIM management

The BIM Management mission is to integrate the objects issued by the different BIM contributors into a single digital model and then to manage their interfaces to ensure the overall consistency of the model, with respect to delivery schedules and final parameters desired by the client.

To achieve this goal, we have established a work methodology that clarifies the set of tasks included in BIM Management. It is divided into the 3 phases described below.

1. BIM environment definition

The BIM environment of the project refers to its mode of operation and its evolution over time according to the client’s and designer’s objectives.

It must be defined upstream of the project in order to guarantee the achievement of results and must correspond to a consultation time where we define the added values desired by the BIM and its end use.

Defining the BIM environment involves setting many factors including:

  • List of BIM software used according to the trades and added values sought, the processes of collaborative exchanges and validation between the actors of the identified projects
  • Exchange platform and cabinet tools with a paperless system
  • Information system infrastructure: server, throughput, computer power, location and storage space, etc.
  • Production expectations of each BIM contributor as well as the possible training modalities of them.
  • Awareness processes with the internal and external teams
  • Management of the interoperability problems between software which are systematic, recurrent and specific to each environment

2. BIM production coordination

Once the BIM environment is determined, BIM Management focuses on managing the BIM objects produced by the contributing actors. This step relies, among other things, on a clear division of the roles and responsibilities of each contributor. Particular attention is paid to the articulation of these aspects to the players concerned as well as their legal transcription in order to limit the risks during the course of the project.

The coordination of each actor’s productions is based on classic “management”: facilitation of meetings, management of the exchanges and follow-up of a schedule of delivery previously validated by all the actors. The feedback we have received has allowed us to establish planning models by type of structure and desired level of BIL detail, with optimized critical pathways and the necessary provisions for exchange and interface times during analysis of communicated BIM objects.

3. BIM model standardization

This last step of BIM Management concerns the control of objects / BIM model, once issued by contributing actors. It involves checking the forms and attributes of these objects, their levels of detail as well as the establishment of links between them and the verification of the coherence of the entirety.

To accomplish this, we rely on a systematic control of each received BIM object / model. When a “conflict” is detected (lack of information, incoherence of settings, insufficient LOD, possible bugs), we apply a procedure of problem identification, edition and communication of a report to the transmitter of the object then we integrate it into the global reporting of tasks.

To ensure good responsiveness, exchanges and consultations are provided for the progressive resolution of each conflict detected in parallel with the progress of production. This step does not include the technical analysis of the conflicts detected or the solution proposal, voluntarily separated and integrated into the “BIM Coordination” expertise.

Once the BIM objects / models have been validated, they are assimilated to a global model that must be managed, facilitated and parameterized as the project progresses.

It is common for a BIM model to be assigned different operating modes during the project phases, implying a transformation of the data and parameterization of the latter. During these transition phases, as we have learned from feedback, it is recommended that only the team in charge of BIM Management make the parameter changes to save time and overall consistency.

BIM achievements

The Vuitton Foundation, L’Anse du Portier in Monaco, Expolink 2020 are examples of our expertise in BIM Management.

Do not hesitate to review all our achievements!

Contact us

Pre Loader

BIM management

La mission de BIM Management consiste à intégrer les objets émis par les différents acteurs contributeurs BIM sur une maquette numérique unique puis, à gérer leurs interfaces afin de garantir la cohérence globale de la maquette, en respect des plannings de livraison et des paramètres finaux souhaités par le client.

Pour parvenir à cet objectif, nous avons établi une méthodologie de travail qui clarifie l’ensemble des tâches intégrées dans le BIM Management. Elle se découpe en 3 phases décrites ci-après.

1. Définition de l’environnement BIM

L’environnement BIM du projet réfère à son mode de fonctionnement et son évolution dans le temps en fonction des objectifs du client et des concepteurs.

Il doit être défini en amont du projet afin de garantir une atteinte des résultats et doit correspondre à un temps de concertation où nous définissons les valeurs ajoutées souhaitées par le BIM et son utilisation finale.

Définir l’environnement BIM implique le paramétrage de nombreux facteurs dont :

  • Liste des logiciels BIM utilisés en fonction des métiers et valeurs ajoutées recherchées, les processus d’échanges collaboratifs et de validation entre les acteurs des projets identifiés
  • Plateforme d’échange et outils d’armoire à plan dématérialisé
  • Infrastructure SI : serveur, débit, puissance des ordinateurs, lieu et espace de stockage, etc.
  • Attentes de production de chaque contributeur BIM ainsi que les modalités de formation éventuelles de ces derniers
  • Processus de sensibilisation au sein des équipes clients / acteurs externes
  • Gestion des problèmes d’interopérabilité entre logiciels qui sont systématiques, récurrents et spécifiques à chaque environnement

2. Coordination de la production BIM

Une fois l’environnement BIM déterminé, le BIM Management se focalise sur la gestion des objets BIM produits par les acteurs contributeurs. Cette étape s’appuie entre autre, sur une répartition claire des rôles et responsabilités de chaque contributeur. Une attention particulière est portée sur la communication de ces aspects auprès des acteurs concernés ainsi que leur transcription juridique afin de limiter les risques lors du déroulement de projet.

La coordination des productions de chaque acteur repose sur une partie “management” classique : animation de réunions, gestion des échanges et suivi d’un planning de livraison validé auparavant par l’ensemble des acteurs. Nos retours d’expérience ont permis d’établir des modèles de planning par type d’ouvrage et de niveau de détail BIL souhaité, avec des chemins critiques optimisés ainsi que les provisions nécessaires pour des temps d’échange et d’interface lors de l’analyse des objets BIM communiqués.

3. Harmonisation de la maquette BIM

Cette dernière étape du BIM Management concerne le contrôle des objets / modèle BIM, une fois émis par les acteurs contributeurs. Elle consiste à vérifier les formes et attributs de ces objets, leurs niveaux de détail ainsi que l’établissement des liaisons entre eux et la vérification de la cohérence de l’ensemble.

Pour ce faire, nous nous appuyons sur un contrôle systématique de chaque objet / modèle BIM reçu. Lorsqu’un “conflit” est détecté (manque d’information, incohérence des paramétrages, LOD insuffisants, bugs éventuels), nous appliquons une procédure d’identification du problème, d’édition et de communication d’un rapport à l’émetteur de l’objet puis nous l’’intégrons dans le reporting global des tâches.

Pour garantir une bonne réactivité, des temps d’échange et de concertation sont prévus pour la résolution progressive de chacun des conflits détectés en parallèle de l’avancement des productions. Cette étape n’intègre ni l’analyse technique des conflits détectés ni la proposition de solution, volontairement séparée et intégrée dans l’expertise “Synthèse BIM”.

Une fois les objets / modèles BIM validés, ils sont assimilés à une maquette globale qu’il faut gérer, animer et paramétrer au fur-et-à-mesure du projet.

Il est courant qu’on attribue à une maquette BIM des modes de fonctionnement variés pendant les phases de projet, impliquant ainsi une transformation des données et paramétrage de cette dernière. Pendant ces phases de transition, par retour d’expérience, il est recommandé que seule l’équipe en charge du BIM Management procède aux modifications de paramétrage afin de gagner en temps et en cohérence globale.

Nos réalisations

La Fondation Vuitton, L’Anse du Portier à Monaco, Expolink 2020 sont des exemples concrets de notre expertise en BIM Management apportée sur des projets.

N’hésitez pas à consulter l’ensemble de nos réalisations !

Contactez-nous